Wednesday, 28 October 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #108: Undeniable by Liz Bankes

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It spotlights books that have not yet been released, but ones that you should pre-order today! This week's book that I am anxiously awaiting is:

by Liz Bankes


Fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han will love this contemporary romance that's equal parts sweet, soapy, and sultry.

After Gabi's relationship with her long-time boyfriend Max falls apart, she just needs to get away - and she finds the perfect escape in a summer internship for her favorite TV show in London. All the gorgeous actors in the cast will more than distract her from the Break-Up.

Then she meets Spencer Black: student, show extra, expert flirt. Spending time with him is fun, intoxicating, and uncertain. Their relationship is heating up when he lands a featured role on the show. Will his newly found fame break them apart, or is Spencer the one?

In this steamy love story, the drama is just as real off-screen as it is on.


Why I Can't Wait

Undeniable sounds like an incredible sweet story. And it is set in London, which is one of my favorite cities in the world and it's the city I will be moving to next week! So I can't wait to read this book.

Publication date: November 24th 2015


Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Top Ten Tuesday #71: Top Ten Supernatural Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Broke and Bookish. This weeks topic is a freebie related to Halloween so I picked
Top Ten Supernatural Books


The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray
Embers (The Wings of War #1) by Karen Ann Hopkins
Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare
Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle #1) by Libba Bray
The Summoning (Darkest Powers #1) by Kelley Armstrong
Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead
The Holders (Holders #1) by Julianna Scott
Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Sunshine (Sunshine #1) by Nikki Rae


Monday, 26 October 2015

Lying Out Loud (The DUFF #2) by Kody Keplinger

23399277Title: Lying Out Loud
Author: Kody Keplinger 
Series: The DUFF
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Young Adult
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication date: April 28th 2015
Pages: 304 (hardcover)
Source: Netgalley

Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friends's house every night because she has nowhere else to go. 

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares everything with - secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross. 

Ryder's the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can't stand - a prep-school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, the friends see it as a prank opportunity not to be missed.

But without meaning to, Sonny ends up talking to Ryder all night online. And to her horror, she realize that she might actually 'like' him. Only there's one small catch: he thinks he's been talking to Amy. So Sonny comes up with an elaborate scheme to help Ryder realize that she's the girl he's really wanted all along. Can Sonny lie her way to the truth, or will all her lies end up costing her both Ryder and Amy? 

Earlier this year if finally read The DUFF  and I loved that book. So when I saw that there would be a sequel I knew that I had to read it. And I have to say that Lying Out Loud lived up to my expectations, it might even have surpassed them.

I had a very hard time putting this book aside to do other things. The story swept me up, thanks to Sonny and her lies, and it was just impossible for me to put this book down. I just wanted to know which lies Sonny would tell next, how it all would work out for her, if Amy would keep standing by her side no matter how many lies Sonny told, how Ryder would react when he found out the truth.  There was so much going on that I could not give this book up. Besides I was looking forward to the scenes were Wesley and Bianca turned up. There were only a couple of scenes with them but they made me happy, I just love those two!

Like in The DUFF, Lying Out Loud also tackled a couple of issues. The first one being Sonny and her impulse to lie about everything. She was a pathological liar; she just could not help herself. She knew it was bad but she could not stop because she was caught in her web of lies. We all know that lying is bad but who can say that they have never lied to anyone. I think that there is no one who can claim such a thing. Sometimes it is just easier to tell a lie than the truth. But in the end the truth always catches up with us. And that is what this book shows us. But Lying Out Loud was about more than that. It was also a story about friendship and forgiveness. Friendship is a fragile thing no matter for how many years you have been friends with each other. There is always something that can come between you: lies, boys, money… And that is what happened to Sonny and Amy. Sonny was always the loud one, the confident one. While Amy was more the shy and quiet one. So Sonny at times overlooked Amy’s feelings because she had a hard time standing up for herself. And most of the time she did not need to because Sonny was around. But both Amy and Sonny grew so much in this department. Amy learned to speak up for herself and Sonny learned that she had to consider other people’s their feelings as well. Most of all Lying Out Loud was about forgiveness. Forgiving each other for the mistakes they make and for the hurt they might have caused you.

Overall I really enjoyed Lying Out Loud. I even enjoyed it more than The DUFF. I loved Sonny as a character just because she had all these flaws. It made her so real and I could easily connect with her, although that I am not a pathological liar. This book was a quick read with a lot of great elements. If you have not read any of Keplinger’s book yet than you really should because she writes wonderful books. So if you are looking for you next contemporary read than you might consider this book. I personally cannot wait to read more books by Keplinger!


Wednesday, 21 October 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #107: Queen (The Blackcoat Rebellion #3) by Aimée Carter

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It spotlights books that have not yet been released, but ones that you should pre-order today! This week's book that I am anxiously awaiting is:

by Aimée Carter



Kitty Doe is a Blackoat rebel and a former captive with a deadly connection to the most powerful and dangerous man in the country, Prime Minister Daxton Hart. Forced to masquerade as Daxton's niece, Lila Hart, Kitty has helped the Blackcoats take back the prison known as Elsewhere. But Daxton has no intention of ceding his position of privilege - or letting Kitty expose his own masquerade. Not in these United States, where each person's rank means the difference between luxury and poverty, freedom and fear... and ultimately, between life and death.

To defeat the corrupt government, Kitty must expose Daxton's secret. Securing evidence will put others in jeopardy, including the boy she's loved forever and an ally she barely trusts. For months, Kitty's survival has hinged on playing a part. Now she must discover who she truly wants to be, and whether the new world she and the rebels are striving to create has a place in it for her after all.


Why I Can't Wait

I read the first book in this series, Pawn, when it was first released. And I loved that book, I haven't gotten the chance yet to read Captive but I can't wait to see how this series ends. 

Publication date: November 24th 2015


Monday, 12 October 2015


Hi guys!

I want to apologize for my lack of posting this past month. These past months in general I have posted less posts then I normally do. I worked in the United States during the summer months and there was so much going on all the time, so many new things and so many new people, that I had not as much time to read and blog as I had wished. After I finished work I traveled around for three weeks. I had a blast during these weeks but I just could not find the time to blog unfortunately. Two weeks ago I arrived back home in Belgium. I thought I would have more time once I got back but the opposite is true. Catching up with friends and family has taken up a lot of my time. On top of that I am in the process of searching for a job in London, yet a different country, and it is quiet time consuming. So there is little time left for me to read and blog at this point in my life. I hope to get back on my normal reading and blogging schedule soon because I do really miss it all. I just wanted to explain to all of you why I have been so absent these past months because you as my readers deserve it. Also for to all the authors and publishers who have send me books. I am way behind on my schedule regarding reviews. Normally this is not how I operate and I am hoping to catch up on all your books really soon!