Wednesday, 27 July 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #129: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It spotlights books that have not yet been released, but ones that you should pre-order today! This week's book that I am anxiously awaiting is:

Carve the Mark
by Veronica Roth


Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth's stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift; a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgif, Akos and Cyra do no - their gifts make them vulnerable to other's control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power of this world?

Cyra is sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra's currentgift gives her pain and power - something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother's hand: she is resilient; quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift; once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive - no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra's world; the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive - or to destroy one another.


Why I Can't Wait

I loved Veronica Roth's her Divergent series so I want to see if she can pull it off again. And on top of that the description of this book sounds intriguing. I cannot wait to find out more about it.

Publication date: January 17th 2017


Tuesday, 26 July 2016

Top Ten Tuesday #90: Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Broke and Bookish. This weeks topic is  Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them


  1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead: Learn Russian/Visit Russia
  2. Just One Day by Gayle Forman: Travel the world and have an epic adventure
  3. Breath, Annie, Breath by Miranda Kenneally: Run a marathon (I will be doing a half-marathon later this year)
  4. Indiscretion by Hannah Fielding: Visit Andalusia (and I am actually going to this fall)
  5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins: Visit Paris again
  6. Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: Go on a road trip
  7. Crash into You by Katie McGarry: Learn more about cars
  8. Temptation by Karen Ann Hopkins: Learn more about the Amish Community
  9. Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally: Learn more about American Football
  10. Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols: Fly an airplane/Become a pilot


Wednesday, 20 July 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #128: Leave Me by Gayle Forman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It spotlights books that have not yet been released, but ones that you should pre-order today! This week's book that I am anxiously awaiting is:

Leave Me
by Gayle Forman


International bestselling author Gayle Forman's trademark humor and insight abound in this masterful adult debut, showing us that sometimes you have to leave home in order to find it again.

For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train instead to a place where no one needs constant attention - meet Maribeth Klein. A harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack.

Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: She packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once we get to where we're going, we see our lives from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to the secrets she has been keeping from those she loves and from herself.

With big-hearted characters who stumble and trip, grow and forgive, Leave Me is about facing our fears. Gayle Forman, a dazzling observer of human nature, has written an irresistible novel that confronts the ambivalence of modern motherhood head-on.


Why I Can't Wait

Gayle Forman is an amazing author. Every single book that I have read by her so far has moved me deeply. And with this one we all have to face the secrets we keep from others and from our selves at some point during our lives. So I really can't wait to get my hands on this one.

Publication date: September 6th 2016


Tuesday, 19 July 2016

Top Ten Tuesday #89: Ten Books Set Outside of the US

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Broke and Bookish. This weeks topic is Ten Books Set Outside of the US


Indiscretion by Hannah Fielding set in Spain
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins set in France (Paris)
Just One Day by Gayle Forman set all over Europe, Mexico and a little bit in the US
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare set in England (London)
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion set in Austrialia
Blood Promise by Richelle Mead mainly set in Russia
Fever Tree by Jennifer McVeigh set in South-Africa
The Echoes of Love by Hannah Fielding set in Italy
The White Queen by Philippa Gregory set in England
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray set in England


Thursday, 7 July 2016

New Book Releases in July

This month is a month in which some amazing books are released. I'm so excited for some of them and I can't wait to read them! 


Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits #5) by Katie McGarry (July 1st)
Paper and Fire (The Great Library #2) by Rachel Caine (July 5th)
This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #2) by Victoria Schwab (July 5th)
Defending Taylor (Hundred Oaks #7) by Miranda Kenneally (July 5th)

28078289 265917692659177123149314 

Summer Shadows (Benedicts #6) by Joss Stirling (July 7th)
Manga Classics: Sense and Sensibility by Stacy King (July 12th)
Manga Classics: Jane Eyre by Stacy King (July 12th)
Torn (A Wicked Saga #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (July 19th)


Little Black Dresses, Little White Lies by Laura Stampler (July 19th)
A World Without You by Beth Revis (July 19th)
Under Sunless Skies (Starlight Saga #2) by Sherry Soul (July 21st)
City of Demons (Georgina Kincaid #2.5) by Richelle Mead (July 26th)


P.S. I Like You by Kasie West (July 26th)
Invincible (The Twixt #4) by Dawn Metcalf (July 26th)
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8) by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne (July 31st)


Wednesday, 6 July 2016

Cover Reveal + Waiting on Wednesday #127: Long Way Home (Thunder Road #3) by Katie McGarry



Being released on January 31st, 2017, the highly anticipated third book in Katie McGarry's Thunder Road Series has a cover that we can't wait to share with you! LONG WAY HOME is a Young Adult Contemporary Romance being published by Harlequin Teen! Pre-order your copy of the next book in this emotionally charged series, and don't miss Violet and Chevy's story!


Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.

It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.

But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness.Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.

"An intoxicating and unforgettable story that kept me glued to the page."Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling author, on Walk the Edge


Long Way Home Pre-Order Links: Amazon | Kobo | BAM | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | IndieBound

  And Don’t Miss the First Two Titles in the Thunder Road Series!

About the author

Katie McGarry - author pic

 Katie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan. Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON, BREAKING THE RULES, and NOWHERE BUT HERE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine's 2012 Reviewer's Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.