Friday 13 September 2013

The Keeper and the Alabaster Chalice by Paige W. Pendleton

18003302He’d bonded with the child. It was foretold, and so it would be.

Black Ledge is inhabited again, but not everyone in the Realm is pleased. As the Driscolls settle into their new home they meet magical Beings, discover secrets, and exasperate the Elven Guard. They’re having a great time.

Charm turns to alarm when they meet Doris, the Acadian Water Witch, who's removed the Alabaster Chalice from its watery grave. The Noctivagi, drawn by the artifact's Water Magyk, seek the Chalice for their own nefarious purpose, and mayhem ensues.

Eleanor, Rob, Jack, and Flora fight time and tide to return the Alabaster Chalice to the Undine Prince before the darkness steals it.

This book was as good as the first one, The Keeper and the Rune Stone, if not better.
The Keeper and the Alabaster Chalice begins right after were the first book left off. The four Driscoll children, Rob, Eleanor, Jack and Flora, find themselves again in a big adventure. This time to find the Alabaster Chalice and when solving the mystery they get in all kinds of trouble. They go looking for it themselves sometimes, especially Jack of course, but that way they learn how to defend and stand up for themselves.
We get to see a lot of Gunnr, a Nightelf, in this book, which I loved since I’m a huge fan of him. He teaches the Driscoll kids how to defend themselves with some knives-throwing lessons. And he specially trains with Eleanor, because she has some special gifts that are greater than even Camedon could have expected (read the books if you want to find out what her gifts are).
And of course we got to meet some new magical creatures like a water witch, who can change her appearances, a dragon who’s not that dangerous as he looks (if he likes you that is) and a Hob named Floyed who likes to cook and clean houses.
This book is ideal for all ages (since I enjoyed it as an adult), but especially for kids. The drawings in this book are definitely a bonus for kids. And the action in this books makes sure of it that boys will love it as well.
The Black Ledge series is definitely a series that I will continue to read and I hope that we can expect the next book soon.

Title: The Keeper and the Alabaster Chalice
Author: Paige W. Pendleton
Series: The Black Ledge Series
Publication date: May 29th 2013
Pages: 208
Other books
  • The Keeper and The Rune Stone (The Black Ledge Series #1)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love reading your comments!